A Message About Daca

It is with a heavy heart that we, at the Center for Ethnic Student Affairs, express our deep disappointment in the decision to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) by the Trump administration. We empathize with the many students, families and friends impacted by this decision. We acknowledge the harm, anxiety, and stress this action creates. The consequences of this decision impacts us all and we stand united behind Dreamers.

Our doors are open and we offer our full support to all affected by this action.

As a result of the decision, we are working with the Dream Center to raise awareness and funding to assist DACA students in paying for their renewal fees. To donate to the Dreamer’s Support Fund, please visit: https://umarket.utah.edu/ugive/index.php?gift_id=2564.

Union 235

801-581-8151

Academic Advising

Scholarship Info

Student Groups

Cultural Support

Tutoring Services

Computers

Student Lounge

Trainings

Our Programs

Although technically these programs come out of Equity and Diversity as a whole, several of the staff members that run these programs are located in our center.

First Year Diversity Scholars

The First Year Diversity Scholars Program supports students through a personalized campus orientation, regular interactions with faculty and staff of color, academic advising, multiple mentoring relationships, and off-campus community engagement opportunities. Most notably, the program is implemented as a cohort model that includes traditional admitted students, sponsored students, and scholarship students.

Learn more…

Transfer Diversity Scholars

Our Transfer Diversity Scholars Program’s goal is to help with successfully transferring to and navigating the U of U. We provide services, resources, and community to help accomplish your goals and further your education.

Learn more…

Our Advisors and Staff

Tricia Sugiyama

Director of the Center for Ethnic Student Affairs
Union 235
801-587-9568
t.sugiyama@utah.edu

Paul Fisk

Transfer Coordinator & Advisor
Union 235
801-581-3328
paul.fisk@utah.edu
Meet with Paul

David (Tevita) Kinikini

Family Support Coordinator & Advisor
Union 235
801-581-8151
d.kinikini@utah.edu
Meet with David (Tevita)

Rudy Medina

First Year Coordinator & Advisor
Union 235
801-585-1538
rudy.medina@utah.edu
Meet with Rudy

Portia Saulabiu

Retention Coordinator & Advisor
Union 235
801-587-9567
portia.saulabiu@utah.edu
Meet with Portia

Anthony Shirley

Scholarship & Financial Resources Coordinator
Union 235
801-585-6458
a.shirley@utah.edu
Meet with Anthony

Giulia Soto

Second Year Program Coordinator & Advisor
Union 235
801-581-8151
giulia.soto@utah.edu
Meet with Giulia

Kadija Mohamed

Administrative Assistant
Union 235
801-581-8142
K.Mohamed@utah.edu

Abby Romero

Graduate Assistant
Union 235
801-587-8436

Chelsea Manzanares

Graduate Assistant
Union 235
801-581-8151
chelsea.manza@gmail.com

Angie Gamarra

Transfer Program Peer Mentor
Union 235

angielgamarra@gmail.com

Andrea Salcedo

Graduate Assistant
Union 235
801-581-8151

Sarah Orozco

Diversity Scholars Peer Mentor
Union 235

sarah.orozco1@gmail.com

AnaJenny Fernandez

Office Assistant
Union 235
801-581-8151
anajenny.fernandez@utah.edu

Nina Castellanos

Diversity Scholars Peer Mentor
Union 235

ninacastellanos98@gmail.com

Wendy Vazquez

Diversity Scholars Peer Mentor
Union 235

u1116261@utah.edu

Iasia Beh

Diversity Scholars Peer Mentor
Union 235