The Center for Equity and Student Belonging (CESB) creates community and advocates for academic success and belonging for students across intersectional identities and experiences among our African, African American, Black, Native, Indigenous, American Indian, Asian, Asian American, Latinx, Chicanx, Pacific Islander, Multiracial, LGBTQ+, Neurodiverse, and Disabled students of color. CESB’s early belonging initiative serves as the as the first stop for belonging at the University of Utah, builds community, and sets up students for success after college.

Our Team


Cassie Zamora-Cathcart

Interim Director, CESB

Union 235
801-587-9568
cassie.cathcart@utah.edu

Joseline Sanchez

Early Contact Program Coordinator

Union 235
801-581-5198
joseline.sanchez@utah.edu

Vanessa Ruelas

First-Year Experience Program Coordinator

Union 235
801-581-5039
v.ruelas@utah.edu

Giulia Soto

Second Year Experience Program Coordinator

Union 235
801-587-9567
giulia.soto@utah.edu

Martha Hernandez

Transfer Program Coordinator

Union 235
801-581-4378
martha.hernandez@utah.edu

Nicole Puertas Sanchez

EDI Embedded Mental Health Specialist

SSB 426
801-581-6826
npuertassanchez@sa.utah.edu

Fabi Madrigal

EDI Embedded Mental Health Specialist

SSB 426
801-581-8721
bmadrigal@sa.utah.edu

Anna Nguyen

AASA Advisor & Asian/Asian American Student Engagement

Union 235
801-581-3328
anna.nguyen@utah.edu

Jasmin Clardy

BSU Advisor & African American/Black Student Engagement

Union 235
801-587-9569
jasmin.clardy@utah.edu

Kyri Duncan

ITSA Advisor & Native/Indigenous Student Engagement

Union 235
801-581-4174
kyri.duncan@utah.edu

Xóchitl Juarez-Cardenas

Office Assistant

Jasmine Girgenti

Program Support Graduate Assistant

Union 235
801-581-8151
jasmine.girgenti@hsc.utah.edu

Leslie Rodriguez

SYE Peer Mentor

u1293545@utah.edu

Giovani Robles

SYE Peer Mentor

u1227261@umail.utah.edu

Moises Santiago

SYE Peer Mentor

MSantiago@sa.utah.edu

Yisel Herrera

SYE Marketing Intern

u1292892@umail.utah.edu