MLK 2018
Check out this year's poster!

At the University of Utah, we celebrate the educational access and opportunities that Dr. King's legacy has provided in the United States. MLK week has become a platform to engage students, faculty, staff and community members in critical conversations around contemporary Civil Rights issues and race in America. This year's MLK Week will be held January 13 - 23, 2018, and we invite you to participate in our many events we will be hosting throughout campus.

  • MLK Day of Service
  • January 13
  • 9:00 AM
  • Various
  • Honor the legacy of Dr. King and his work by working alongside the Salt Lake community. Opportunities include:
    Friends for Sight
    Big Brothers Big Sisters of Utah
    International Rescue Committee - Spice Kitchen
    The Road Home
    Primary Children's Craft Kits
    Service Corner - Knitting Necessities
    First Step House
    Best Friends Animal Society
    Red Butte Gardens
    American Red Cross Home Fire Campaign
  • Rally & March
  • January 15
  • 2:30 PM
  • East High School to Kingsbury Hall
  • With Dr. King’s footsteps forging the pathway towards equity, we march to commemorate his legacy and the work of many activists during the Civil Rights movement. Join us for a rally and march (from East High to Kingsbury Hall) celebrating the legacy of MLK!

    Rally @ 2:30 pm
    March @ 3:00 - 4:00 pm

    For ADA accommodations, contact Estela Hernandez at (801)587-3342.
  • Toxic: A Conversation on Environmental Racism
  • January 17
  • 12:15 PM
  • Moot Courtroom (Law - Level 6)
  • This year’s theme addresses the intentionality of environmental racism through systems and policies that disproportionately regulate zoning laws, chemical and toxic waste, and access to natural resources for communities of color as a way to further inequity of social, economic, and political power.

    These types of policies still exist today and have manifested through current issues like the Dakota access pipeline, Flint water crisis, and natural disaster relief. To give us a more in-depth look, we’ve invited experts from across the country to speak on a panel and share their research and perspectives regarding these particular topics.
  • Panelists' Bios
  • Pizza & Politics
  • January 18
  • 12:15 PM
  • Hinckley Caucus Room
  • Hear from local perspectives about environmental racism and how we can help promote change.

    Moderator: Franci Taylor, Director of the American Indian Resource Center at the U

    Rebecca Hall, Attorney and Community activist
    Carl Moore, Co-founder of PANDOS & Chair for SLC Air Protectors
    Victor Puertas, Community organizer with ROAR, Dine Land and Water and Utah Tar Sands Resistance
    Adrienne Cachelin, Director for Sustainability Education & Associate Professor of Environmental and Sustainability Studies
  • Jacqueline Woodson
  • January 23
  • 12:00 PM
  • Gould Auditorium
  • Jacqueline Woodson is the author of more than two dozen award-winning books for young adults, middle graders, and children. Among her many accolades, she is the 2014 National Book Award winner for her New York Times bestselling memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, which was also a recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award and the NAACP Image Award, and was named a Newbery Honor Book and a Robert F. Sibert Honor Book.

    This event is sponsored by World of Children's Literature
  • The Dirt on Air pollution and Suicide in Utah
  • January 16
  • 12:00 PM
  • HSEB 3515B
  • Dr. Bakian will be presenting on her research titled: Short-term Ambient Pollution and Risk of Suicide.
    The event will also be live streamed here:
  • RSVP here
Thank you to our committe members and sponsors!
  • Committee Members:
  • Estela Hernandez
  • Neelam Chand
  • Frances Battle
  • Kathleen Christy
  • Mindy Johnston
  • Portia Saulabiu
  • Puneet Singh
  • Bryan Luu
  • Robin Wilks-Dunn
  • Franci Taylor
  • Bryce Williams
  • Ed Munoz
  • Amerique Phillips
  • Tamara Stevenson
  • Irene Ota
  • Steve Bell
  • Timothy Davis
  • Romeo Jackson
  • Gabriella Blanchard
  • Rudy Medina
  • Feleti Matagi
  • Hamza Yaqoobi
  • Kaya Aman
  • Sheldon Begay
  • Sponsors:
  • Office for Equity and Diversity
  • S.J. Quinney College of Law
  • Bennion Center
  • ASUU
  • Division of Ethnic Studies
  • East High School
  • Hinckley Institute of Politics
  • Salt Lake City Police Department
  • Salt Lake City School District
  • Zions Bank Avenues Smiths
  • Kingsbury Hall
  • Environmental and Sustainability Studies Program
  • Alumni Association